Transposing

ukusaurus

Reaction score
So how does everyone do it. I have very little musical knowledge so I cant just see a chord and be like k well down a step is so and so. The only way I've been able to is when I can find a song on Chordie.com and use the transposer tab. Whats the easiest way. Educate me please. :bowdown:

With practice you get to recognise how different chords relate to each other in different keys. Recognising "Ah, that's the IV minor" can be really helpful.

I started out by a horribly painful process of counting up or down semitones for each chord included in the song and eliminating any misscounts by playing through (I only heard about the Chordie transposing feature last week!). It's more accurate than sheer trial and error, unless you've got a really good ear, but at first it's very slow.

By far easier though is just learning how different chords fit into different keys relative to each other. You can do it by rote, or gradually pick it up as you go along. I'm in the latter camp and have noticed myself making progress each time I've had to change the key of a song.

Of course often with uke, you can barre all your chords up however far you require and just play with the exact same shapes as the original, without having to be conscious of the names of the chords you are actually playing.

Ab-A-Bb-B-C-C#-D-Eb-E-F-F#-G
these the notes

if you have a chord pattern that is say G-Am-F for example and you want to move it up a half step it would Ab-Bbm-F#. a full step would be A-Bm-G

its not too hard. just remember that all of the minors and such stay the same.

Last edited:
There are a couple of steps to get it down, but once you have it you'll always have it and it is the easiest way imo.