Bm+

Icelander53

Reaction score
What the heck chord is this? Can you show me? I'm learning the song Back to the Island by Leon Russell and it has a Bm+ and I can't find that on any chord chart anywhere darn it all to heck.

(Pardon my horrifyingly bad language, I don't know what came over me)

It is an Augmented chord.
When you see the + it means the 5th note of the scale is raised 1/2 step (#).
It is a sharp not a hash tag.

See if you can figure it out, it is a good lesson in building a chord.
Your notes would be the 1st, flat 3rd, sharp 5th.
The flat 3rd makes it a minor.

Ooh, that's a good song. Leon sure can write 'em!

Well I'll see what I can do even though you are speaking a foreign language. I'm a rank beginner but my training partner is not. She can help.

It is an Augmented chord.
When you see the + it means the 5th note of the scale is raised 1/2 step (#).
It is a sharp not a hash tag.

See if you can figure it out, it is a good lesson in building a chord.
Your notes would be the 1st, flat 3rd, sharp 5th.
The flat 3rd makes it a minor.
I knew you could do this but never really tried it. Is it 4242? Guess I need to memorize some of the chord constructs this would be real handy.

Well I'll see what I can do even though you are speaking a foreign language. I'm a rank beginner but my training partner is not. She can help.

James Hill once told me there are two ways to build chords, the microwave version (look it up in a chart) and the Betty Crocker version where you actually build the chord.
Understanding how chords are built will help you on your musical journey.
The "C" scale is C, D, E, F, G, A, B (no sharps or flats)
the 1,3,5 are C, E & G the major chord. Flat the 3rd You have C, Eb, & G or a Cm chord.
Sharp the 5th and you have C, E, G# or a C+ chord (augmented).

Now try it with "B" and you will have it.

Here is a nice intro to chords

Good luck and have fun.

Hmmmmm :sketchy: I think the joke is on y'all.