HELP re: moving from plugging in ukulele to mic-ing ukulele

DaveY

Reaction score
When I started playing, I held the uke close to the vocal mic and "shared." Primitive, I know. Since then I've been plugging in and appreciating the freedom, and the better sound (because I'm not sharing the mic – I realize that a correctly mic-ed sound is more natural).

Now I am thinking of purchasing a uke (spruce top "super concert") whose loudness and price make me reluctant to add the cost of a pickup.

My question is: Has anyone gone from relying on plugging in to mic-ing their uke, and if so, have you had any problems, including being locked in to a standing or sitting position (from not moving the uke, for the most part) . . . or any others?

Also, would a Shure SM58 or Rode M1 (vocal) mic work fine? Or do you recommend another mic for the instrument? I would be using my own sound or (less often) someone else's.

Thanks.

The SM58 or M1 will work but a condensor microphone (large or small diaphram) is generally better. I have a Rode M3 that is excellent for acoustic instruments.

I detest playing live with a microphone - if you are spending several hundred dollars on a nice uke the extra dollars for a good pickup are well spent, IMHO.

Recording - I loves my M3 and rarely use a UST for recording. (I will use the under-soundboard transducer of my ukes that have them for recording though - it's almost as good as a microphone without the extra hassle.)

John

We use Spc-15 condenser mics almost all the time.

spc-15

One for me (uke, harmonica, vocals). One for my wife (uke and vocals). If we have a wall behind us it even picks up the bass bucket and there is no need to mic it.

I've used 4 on my friends band, (violin & vocals), (uke & vocals), (guitar), (upright bass). Used them the for open mic ( 1 per performer). I have had a lot of comments how nice the sound is from other musicians.