Is it just me?

BigD

Reaction score
Is it just me or is there never an end to trying to find the perfect ukulele? I havent had nearly the exposure as some of you, most of you probably, but i just seem to be unhappy with my ukes recently. My go to uke, my cheap (not a bad thing) makala tenor is just not what it used to be in my ears. Itll always have a special place but i dont know if my ears have developed or what but its just not there anymore. I also just received a very nice solid koa tenor by trade from another member ( he was awesome to work with by the way, truly upheld the nature of this site) and im still not happy. Its a great uke, very bell like but still warm, looks fantastic. AND IM STILL NOT HAPPY!! it just doesnt feel right in my hands and i cant pinpoint it, to the point where ill more then likely post it for trade soon, which is a shame because its exactly the look i like. How many of you exchange ukes on a regular basis? How many of you have found " The One" and you could go without another your whole life? Im also not in any way rolling in the dough by any means so its hard to finance these kind of things but it truly bothers me till no end.

I think I'd be fine with my Fluke for the rest of my days. Black, Tenor, wood Fretboard, Low G tuning. It has a beautiful sound and I've gotten used to the strange neck shape. I think though if it was to be my only uke I'd go to a reentrant tuning.

To me there is no such thing... I have 30+ and I love them all... Each one is perfect for a particular mood, moment, song etc...

In the end it's not about the instrument or you, but about the music. In the same manner as a painting there is no one perfect brush...

To me there is no such thing... I have 30+ and I love them all... Each one is perfect for a particular mood, moment, song etc...

In the end it's not about the instrument or you, but about the music. In the same manner as a painting there is no one perfect brush...