Need advice for a pickup :)

Pashley

Reaction score
Looking to install a pickup on my Fender Tenor.

From my research, it seems an under saddle type is better than a piezo transducer type. I can install it, as I am a professional woodworker.

I'm looking for a good quality model - but I don't need concert quality. I understand Fishman is very good. Willing to spend $125.

So, my question is, is an under saddle better, what brand & model would you suggest, and where to buy it?

Thanks!

As important as the pickup is the install so make sure you hire someone with the skills. That said, I would spend an extra $25 and fork out for the LR Baggs 5-0. The MISI is another good one, but I'd chose the Baggs nine times out of ten.

No need to spend a fortune. Go on ebay amd search for an ARTEC ukulele undersaddle passive pickup. It is inexpensive but on par with all those expensive pickups in my experience.

I prefer an active system. I've installed preamps with built in tuners in the side of four of my ukes, and changed out a few under saddle pickups, but had luthiers deepen the bridge that didn't have an existing pickup. The only passive pickup I have is a Fishman Pro AG0-Uke installed by a technician, who did a good job, but I don't like the limited volume it has. I've bought a variety of good active preamp systems from China.