How much do you charge to play?

jungleturtle

Reaction score
I know people don't like to discuss this, but I'm hoping I can get a ballpark figure. No, we're not playing a ballpark. It's a library.

My wife and I have been trying to break into playing places for a little while now and we've mostly been playing free shows, because nobody wants to pay. We now have a chance at our first paying gig, but we're not sure what to charge.

I play ukulele on some songs and guitar on others as well as harmonica on most, and both of us sing. They're asking what we would charge for a one hour show. This is in Portland, Oregon if that helps.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Is $200 too much? Too little? I've been a musician for many years, but never "professional." I have been paid before, but I've always let them set the price, which has varied widely. My wife is a good singer and was in choir back in high school and college.

$100? $300? I really don't know.

Last edited:
Here's a suggestion, to look professional, give them a rate sheet on paper that shows a first time customer rate and a normal rate. The first time rate could be say $100 for one hour for both of you, and an additional $50 if it's more than 5 minutes into and up to the next hour, and $100 for each additional hour. The normal rate is say $250 minimum for up to 2 hours, plus $100 for each additional hour.

They should see that as a first time customer, they can pay as little as $100, or if they use you for three hours, they pay $250 instead of $350. This is just a starting point, you can modify the amounts to suite yourself.

As you probably realize, it comes down to some combination of "what the market will bear" (what they'll pay) and what you can bear (what makes it worthwhile to you). I always ask "What's your budget for the show?" but often people don't answer specifically, because each side is waiting for the other one to go first and commit.