PDA

View Full Version : String question!

JojoS
05-13-2014, 09:56 AM
Hello everyone!
I'm completely new to ukulele playing, I recently bought a Lanikai LU-21Concert Uke. It currently has aquila strings on it, but I'm not sure I really like the sound of them. Whenever I play it it sounds quite pitchy and just harsh and not as 'mellow' or like deep as I heard other ukuleles sound. Can I fix this by changing the strings? If yes, what strings should I go for?
Or could the way I strum it be the problem?
This is probably a really stupid question, but I'm completely new to this so yeah. Also, I'm sorry if this is pretty unclear, english isn't my first language (:
Thank you for helping me!

LloydAZ
05-13-2014, 10:28 AM
Did the place you buy the Ukulele from do a setup on it for you? If they didn't, then you may want to take it into a shop and have someone do a professional setup on it and that will make a world of difference.

Changing the strings definitely won't hurt, especially if you don't like the tone of the current ones. Strumming can change the tone as well. Using your fingernail or a pick will make the sound a little brighter, where using the fleshy part of your thumb will make the sound softer.

I'm sure that there is someone on here that has the same instrument and can offer some advice as to what strings they think sound best on it

OldePhart
05-13-2014, 02:10 PM