Kala KA-15S for total beginners

ukemunga

Reaction score
That was my first one a few years ago to test the waters. I still have it.

I have always touted it as a good beginner's uke but it's been a few years. It actually hangs from a makeshift hook attached to a floor lamp by my desk within arm's reach.

I've been noodling with it again and I still think it's a great #1. I looked it up online and it's available for about $55.00 shipped, usually.

Just throwing this out here if you're researching.

It's pretty ironic that you posted this thread as I was thinking about starting one about the same uke. I've got one of the older KA-15S models with the water slide rosette. I see the newer ones have an etched rosette. I haven't played one of the new ones, but I sure hope the only thing they changed was that. I love mine the way it is.

I have a few other ukes in higher price ranges, and the 15S still gets lots of play time. In fact, I was just playing mine when I decided to look for a 15S thread. I have mine strung with Aquila strings and really like the tone and response. In short, I second the OP's comments. The 15S is a real bargain.

I have a Kala KA-SEM I picked up in the marketplace for around $85 IIRC with a case and a few sets of extra strings. I would have to believe it is more or less the same instrument with a slightly nicer plywood used in construction. While I am still a beginner it has become my daily player and sits within arms reach in an open case. I had set up my smiley and was happy with him until I heard the Kala, now smiley although a nice player sounds really dead.

The KA-15S is a sweet little gem, as far as I'm concerned. My wife picked it for herself as a starter - brand, price, & the brass frets. She is allergic to nickel in the regular frets, & outside of this and the Makala line, they are hard to find.