PDA

View Full Version : Difficult chords

Icelander53
05-14-2014, 04:12 AM
I'm a beginner but at this stage I've learned three dozen or more chords in first position. I'm learning to play them smoothly and cleanly and be able to transition between them. That's the difficult part. There are a couple that really pose a constant problem for me, compared to the others that is.

For me, one is the D chord. I really have trouble getting all three fingers in there and making a clean D without a buzz or it sounding muted or flat. It never seems to get easier. The other chord is E7. Moving into that chord always seems to be a major challenge for my fingers to get there smoothly and with any amount of speed. My old fingers just don't do that position easily especially moving from another position.

I used to have a lot of trouble with Em. I would carefully have to place one finger at a time. But once I did it with just fingering the C and A string and leaving out the E string and by golly I can hardly tell the difference in how it sounds and it's fairly easy to do smoothly and quickly for me with two fingers. So I do that. Often once those two fingers are down I can play that E string later and it doesn't disrupt the sound of the chord. Not to my ears anyway.

So... I'm just curious about what chords are difficult for you and why and how you may have overcome some chord difficulties.

molokinirum
05-14-2014, 04:19 AM
Best method I used....and it will take some time and lots of practice, is to move your fingers into the chord like a stamp. Try to stay away from the place one finger at a time as that method will hold you back.
For that D chord...I bar the three strings by arching my finger. I also cant find room for the three fingers.

jop
05-14-2014, 04:25 AM