Encouraging a new player.

RAB11

Reaction score
So my girlfriend's starting to learn the uke, which has made me very chuffed. The only thing is, she won't play in front of anyone at the moment, even me, because she gets a bit embarrassed. So I gave her the book I learnt from to start with and she's been working on a couple songs of her own that she's got tabs from the internet for. She won't even tell the songs she's trying to learn bless her but she's determined to sort it out.

From what I can gather from what she's telling me, she's starting to get chord changes under control but as she hasn't done anything musical since a recorder way back when she ain't got no riddum so strumming is a problem. I'm self-taught, and not in the most methodical way either so I have no idea what to suggest in terms of learning rhythm and strumming patterns other then "pick a song you know, play what feels right".

She's actually gonna show me how she's getting on this evening and wants my help with the strumming. Any suggestions on how I can encourage her and get her to think more rhythmically?

Since she clearly wants to do as much on her own as possible - I get that, I was and am that way - point her to Aldrine's Uke Minutes. And/or ask if she wants a UU+ subscription. Then she doesn't have to play in front of anyone and can learn at her own pace with video and audio demos.

when i learned ukulele i used ukulele-tricks.com it doesnt get yeah far but he helps with a few songs and good with strumming and keeping the pace easy. It gave me confidence cause i could know a few songs well (ish for a beginner). I think she needs to learn a song she loves inside and out and then she will show you (or at least thats how i feel)

Same boat buddy, Jess got herself a baritone but is very self conscious about it.
I was self taught in an awkward around the houses way and Jess struggles with her strums.