Kiwaya KS1 or Mainland Concert as 1st 'serious' ukulele?

Vagrant

Reaction score
Hello all,
I've been playing for a couple of months, and have a cheap Mahalo which I have been practising on. I've not been playing long enough to get good yet, but long enough to know I'm serious enough to spend a bit more money on a better uke.

I've got the chance to get either a Kiwaya KS1 or a Mainland mahogany concert with a slotted headstock, and have been offered either of them at basically half price. I wish could afford both but I can't, so I was just wondering which one would be most suitable for me to progress on? I've found lots of good reviews about both, but would appreciate some better qualified opinions.

And 'hello' too - I've lurked around the forum since before I got my Mahalo, and have learnt a lot. Mainly that I'm probably going to own a lot of ukuleles!

Thanks!

You'll be pretty happy with either. If the Kiwaya is like my longneck soprano it will have vintage style frets - very thin and low. I kind of like them but they are different than the medium frets you'll find on almost any other modern uke and they can make barre chords a bit more difficult especially if you have bony fingers.

Other than that...either of them will be such a huge step up from the Mahalo that you'll be pretty happy for quite a while.

John

I don't know anything about the Kiwaya. But I LOVE my Mainland classic mahogany tenor. It plays better than any uke I've tried. The intonation is spot on. Plus it sounds really great.

Good luck!

Never played a mainland but i have heard amazing reviews on them and everyone seems to recommend them.

The Kiwaya felt great, i loved the neck and the fret shape and feel.

Both would be great, if you have the opportunity to play them both that could be the way to decide. Cause what feels right for you is the best ukulele and the best way to decide