PDA

View Full Version : New Ukulele Purchase Advice Needed (No STARTER models)

JMSetzler
05-21-2014, 06:18 PM
I read through a LOT of threads here where people were asking for advice on 'starter' ukuleles. My request is a bit different. I'm looking for my FIRST ukulele but I don't want a 'starter' model. I have never played a uke before but I have about 35 years of guitar experience under my belt.

My experience in the world of guitars tells me that I want to start out with something that is much better than an average quality model. I want a concert size model and I'm willing to spend somewhere between $350-$450 to buy one. I have looked around online at various shops that sell ukuleles and I have seen a few that look decent but I can't actually put my hands on one. I live in North Carolina in a rather rural area and the closest shops to me that sell ukuleles are well over an hour drive in each direction and they don't carry very many models. I'd rather rely on the experience of folks from a forum such as this one to steer me in the right direction.

I have solid experience with C.F. Martin & Co. guitars and I have never been disappointed with their higher end products. I noticed that they also make ukuleles and some of them look pretty decent from the photos and descriptions.

I'm also not really interested in a model with electronics installed but I would not object to buying one if that's the route I need to take.

Your advice would be greatly appreciated :)

PereBourik
05-21-2014, 06:35 PM
The Martin C1 can be pretty good, especially from a reputable dealer who will not only inspect but set up the uke. Maybe the best concert out there at your price is the KoAloha Opio. Buy it from HMS, The Ukulele Site and you will get a good one with a legendary setup.

I have the Opio's predecessor, the KoAlana, from HMS. It's a lifetime keeper.

Jim Hanks
05-21-2014, 06:43 PM