Uke too small?

flyboy

Reaction score
Hi! I'm a complete beginner. I've watched a few videos on how to hold the ukulele, and I just can't keep it from sliding down if I hold it with just my right arm.

I'm wondering if my arm is too big for this (soprano) uke. If I rest it vertically with my forearm alongside it, my fingertips reach the higher pegs.

Or maybe that's just normal and there's a way to keep it squeezed against my upper forearm to prevent it from falling without the left hand?

Thanks!

Also have to watch out for some of the slippery synthetic or partially synthetic fabrics. I have a few long sleeve cool-dri type long sleeve shirts that make it very difficult to hold my uke without some slippage, especially the ones with gloss finish.

Non-slip shelf liner stuck to the back with 3m trim adhesive works great. The only uke I've had that damage the finish on was a Kiwaya. My other ukes including my KoAloha ukes has been fine with it.

John

Non-slip shelf liner stuck to the back with 3m trim adhesive works great. The only uke I've had that damage the finish on was a Kiwaya. My other ukes including my KoAloha ukes has been fine with it.

John

Thanks John, gonna try that with my new soprano....I'd feel darn silly putting a strap on it if I don't have to....

Hi! I'm a complete beginner. I've watched a few videos on how to hold the ukulele, and I just can't keep it from sliding down if I hold it with just my right arm.

I'm wondering if my arm is too big for this (soprano) uke. If I rest it vertically with my forearm alongside it, my fingertips reach the higher pegs.

Or maybe that's just normal and there's a way to keep it squeezed against my upper forearm to prevent it from falling without the left hand?

Thanks!

You need a strap, I would say try that first but yeah I prefer the larger ukulele's more comfy to hold IMHO. I find soprano's awkward.