PDA

View Full Version : Question: ukulele theory vs. piano theory

haertig
05-31-2014, 05:13 PM
Hi! Newbie first post here.

I have a question on Ukulele theory. I am new to ukulele, but have considerable experience on piano, and theory is not a foreign concept to me (although admittedly not my favorite topic!)

I downloaded the Adroid "Ukulele Fretboard" app after seeing it recommented here. It does seem pretty handy. But I noticed things like the D chord is shown as D-Gb-A in that app. That immediately struck me since the key of D has two sharps. Of course, I know that the same physical key on a piano or the same fret on a ukulele may be called F# or Gb depending on the key you are playing in. But if you are playing in D, that 1/3 up is an F#, not a Gb. Is it typical in ukulele land to ignore details like this, or is the Ukulele Fretboard app a bit off the mark?

Also, for a different example, I see that what I would call "the second inversion of the F chord" on piano is called "the basic F chord" on the ukulele. So what does "basic" mean in ukulele land? Is it the easiest inversion to play? The lowest pitched inversion? Or do you not even think like this (chord inversions) in ukulele?

I was hoping that learning ukulele might reinforce my piano theory. Despite being fairly advanced in piano, I readily admit that theory is my weakness. My main goal is to play ukulele for fun, and complementing piano theory is just a side-line I was hoping for. I figured ukulele would be good in chord theory since ukulele songs are more chord based than melody based (at least at the beginner level). Piano is just the opposite (in classical piano that is, other genres can be pretty much nothing BUT chords).

Any pointers to (Android) apps that teach theory consistanty across ukulele and piano?

Thanks!

Brad Bordessa
05-31-2014, 05:43 PM