PDA

View Full Version : Lowering the G String Question

Wilfros
06-02-2014, 05:03 PM
I have found, for practice chording and picking simple songs, the G string, for now works best for me when tuned on octave lower.

My problem is that, when doing this, the result is a very loose and "soft" string. When playing notes on this string they are hard to pluck, hard to get a clear sound for the note your are wishing and excessive ease a moving the string. I find that when I place my finger on this loose string it allows the finger to move the string easily, offering next to no resistance. this, of course results in a great variety of notes other than the particular one I am wishing to obtain,

My question is this... If you wish to tune the G string an octave lower is there another string I should be placing on the Uke in lieu of the one that is expecting to be tuned to the higher G note?

A newbie question, no doubt, but then I am a newbie so I hope this works together. :D

RichM
06-02-2014, 05:14 PM
No worries, we were all new once! And yes, your instincts are good-- you need a Low G string, which is a heavier string that will take the low G tuning better and have proper tension. You can buy Low G sets and many shops can sell you just a single low G string if you're otherwise happy with your strings.

JayMadison
06-03-2014, 12:35 AM
The ones i've tried are metal wrapped so they add and interesting sound to the uke

peaceweaver3
06-03-2014, 06:12 AM
If you can't find uke-specific strings locally, try a classical guitar D (4th) string. It may squeak when running your finger along it, but it will be better than tuning the original string an octave lower.

Rllink
06-03-2014, 08:19 AM
So if you lower the g string an octave and tune your ukulele that way, what happens to the chords? I guess a g is a g is a g, but I am wondering if the voice changes and if that changes anything as well?

ukeeku
06-03-2014, 08:24 AM
Am I the only one that chuckled at the title of this post?