Bone Nut & Saddle - How Much?

Vagrant

Reaction score
Hi all,
I recently added a new bone nut and saddle to my Bruko. Although I have little luthiery experience, I do have 15+ years experience working with woods and bone making delicate items, and I think I pulled it off quite well, taking a lot of care over fit and finish, and days over action and intonation. It was a good learning experience, and certainly helped me better understand what I'm doing as a player (well, learner).

My question is: someone on a different forum has seen what I've done done, and asked me to do the same to their Bruko. I've gotten hold of a broken knife, made in the US in 1885 - the blade is snapped and the... pommel(?) at the end of the handle is split, but it has lovely buffalo horn scales which I'm going to cut down and shape for the nut and the saddle. But I haven't a clue how much to charge. I'm in the UK, and local luthiers are thin on the ground, so can't even fathom how to work it out!
I know I have to balance my experience as a maker of things (15 years or more) versus my actual luthiery experience (a week), so... what would you all say?

Any thoughts much appreciated!

The only way to price your work is by the hour plus materials. Otherwise you're only picking numbers out of thin air.

The material is worth something, so put a price on it. If it's only $5 so be it. Then if it takes you 1 hour or 2, charge for that at that. The shop rate for luthier repair work is going to vary wildly from place to place. I would imagine that most will slip in between $50 and $100 per hour.

Back in the day when I relied on repairs, a bone saddle was $30 and a bone nut was $40, materials included. That was a few years ago, but it puts me square in the middle of Allen's estimate. Both could be done in less than an hour, total. I set my rates for what I thought I could do as far as time. As I got faster I made more money, assuming I had other work to fill in the time I saved.