Can we discuss intonation/compensation?

joeguam

Reaction score
I'm on the tail end of my very first build from a kit and I have some question on intonation/compensation. Some of you may have seen my thread: Build Thread: StewMac Tenor Ukulele Kit

There has been some awesome UU members giving me tips and advice along the way, and now I've encountered the hurdle of locating the bridge. Here's what I'm unsure about:

The stewmac product page lists the scale length as 17-3/32" (17.09375"), however, the instructions state to place the bridge with the center of the saddle at exactly 17-3/32". Furthermore, when I use the fret calculator on the stewmac site and enter 17.09375 as the scale length with 19th frets on an ukulele, it tells me to place the bridge at 17.19460".

So I'm real confused. :(
I'm a gigging musician and hope to use this instrument at gigs. I have some ukes I've purchased with real bad intonation, so I want to get this right. Can someone give me advice on how to make sense of this?

Thanks so much in advance!

There may be a confusion between 'scale length' and 'string length'. To get the scale length, double the distance between the face of the nut and the 12th fret. Run that figure in the Stewmac calculator and see if the actual frets line up with the figures you get. I'd hazard a guess that the scale length is 17 inches, and then 3/32 would be a decent compensation, resulting in a string length of 17 3/32. I am guessing a bit since I haven't seen this kit or read the instructions. But knowing you from your thread you will persevere and make an awesome uke with perfect intonation.

One more thing. What action do you prefer at the 12th? If you're a hard strummer with 3.5 mm (note the shift of units) you might need more compensation than I do, I'm at wimpy 2 mm and play softly. No matter what I say about being hard ass.

Sven, thank you so much for your continued help, you have no idea how grateful I am. :)