PDA

View Full Version : The tough chords.

Rllink
06-05-2014, 06:53 AM
Since day one for me, people have been talking about the E chord and how hard it is to hit. Just today, someone was talking about the D chord and asking if people bar it or use three fingers. Someone else said that they used some other chord completely, to avoid using the D chord. Then there are people who want to throw their thumb up over the neck and cover those three strings for the D.

I am just a beginner, so I really don't know so much, but it seems to me that avoiding a chord may work for a while, but eventually it is going to show up and you are not going to be able to avoid it. I've been working hard on the D and the E chords, among others, and they are slowly getting better. But my point, is this something I should be trying to learn? Should I be using alternate chords? Does it make one a more versatile? I tend to spend a lot of time on those chords, and if there is an easier way, I'm all for it. On the other hand, I don't want to limit myself by not learning chords, just because they are tough to hit. A discussion would be good. Thanks.

SailingUke
06-05-2014, 07:03 AM
tabbing out a "D" 2225 this is a "C" chord slid up a step (2frets)
You can use the same shape at the 4th fret for an "E" 4447

Barre the 2nd with your index finger and use pinky on 5th.
Slide the shape up 1 fret for "Eb" and 2 frets for an "E"

RichM
06-05-2014, 07:06 AM
I think you said a mouthful. While learning different chord voicing and substitutions is always a good idea to improve your musicianship, avoiding "difficult" chords is kind of lazy and very limiting. If your goal is to be a better musician, hunker down and learn the hard chords. Barre chords can be difficult for the beginner, but I guarantee they will come with practice.

janeray1940
06-05-2014, 07:07 AM