Best Learning Order

velourik

Reaction score
Hey everybody, I'm brand new to both the ukulele and this site, and am very excited to get started.

What's the recommended approach/order for beginning? I'm a bit confused as to whether I should go through the Essential Chord course, the month-long UU practice sessions, the Beginner videos in the Video Library, the Ukulele 101 course, or something else entirely (e.g. Uncle Rod's UBC, 26 Basic Ukulele Lessons). Any suggestions?

Thanks!

Last edited:
I'm pretty new to it as well. I started playing in April. I started out with Uncle Rod's Ukulele boot camp. That got me going. I then started the Ukulele Aerobics and that has really been fun. I think that some people who do the Ukulele Aerobics jump ahead and do several lessons a day, trying to get through the book as fast as they can, but for me, I just take each day's lesson and let is soak in so that I own it before I move on to the next one. Just a little bite every day adds up quickly. That is working well for me at this point. But again, I'm just a few months ahead of you. so I'm not an expert in any way. I also find old songs on ultimateguitar.com that I remember from the sixties and seventies and learn the chords for them as well. That is fun.

If you have no experience with stringed instruments or havent picked one up in a time. You will benefit from just playing the first open string then the first fret, second fret, third fret, fourth fret keeping all fingers down on the string. Ahhhh This:

That is a very simple exercise that takes no thought and gets you used to not looking at your fingers quickly. I used this and uncle rods to get me to a place where I can noodle and figure out a few songs on my own.

Mike has a lot of videos he put up to help us all.