PDA

View Full Version : Can I cut a piezo pickup?



orangeena
06-13-2014, 06:18 AM
A recent eBay acquisition of a Rolan MicroCube amp has led to me going back to a Cigar Box Uke I made a couple of years back to fit a pickup. The intonation was never right on this instrument (compensation problems!) so it needed pulling apart. So I fitted a piezo pickup with a tone/volume control unit. However I think the pickup must be intended for a mando or something as the expected string spacings are quite close together. The result was that my A string was not being picked up. Luckily the wonderful Chinese suppliers has included a guitar piezo which fits the string spacings but sticks out (See photo)

http://i367.photobucket.com/albums/oo118/orangeena73/IMAG0971_zpsc5d4e1fe.jpg

http://i367.photobucket.com/albums/oo118/orangeena73/IMAG0972_zps1e8e583a.jpg

This works acoustically, but is not functional.

My question is can I trim the piezo pickup without breaking it?

Thanks
Max

resoman
06-13-2014, 08:23 AM
C.B Gitty has a tutorial on their website on how to cut that kind of piezo. It's for a pickup that they sell so....
You'll have to dig around the website to find the tutorial

Timbuck
06-13-2014, 08:36 AM
Yes! .... All you need is a pair of sharp scissors I've cut the disc type down to 12mm square for replacement Ddrum triggers, you just lose a bit of sensitivity...I never tried it on the type youve got there tho' ;)
http://i219.photobucket.com/albums/cc143/shiregreenbod/ddrumtrig_zps0b8a88c2.jpg (http://s219.photobucket.com/user/shiregreenbod/media/ddrumtrig_zps0b8a88c2.jpg.html)

orangeena
06-13-2014, 09:08 AM
Ok thanks chaps, I will check out the site.

Edit: the link is here (http://oldshop.cbgitty.com/?p=26) in case any one needs it. I will let you know how it goes.

orangeena
06-15-2014, 06:25 AM
So the answer is yes you can cut a piezo rod to length. As long as you use sharp wire snippers and cut in the gaps between the raised crystals. The result works fine. Thanks for the help.

Max