PDA

View Full Version : who is your ukulele idol at the moment?

iamesperambient
06-13-2014, 06:41 AM
I started playing uke about 10 years ago when the magnetic fields "I" album came out. I never gave ukulele much attention until i heard that album. In a weeks time I had purchased a ukulele to learn the songs from that album, and i quickly picked up playing those songs just fine (which now knowing how to play their all very basic chords and playing style). Now Lately ive been watching kimo hussy trying to learn to play like him, i set a personal goal every month to learn a new jazzy uke technique and I'm learning a lot and progressing in this stye but im still very much a novice in this kind of music, and have a long way to go but my ultimate goal down the line (maybe in another 10 years or 20) is to play like Kimo.

coolkayaker1
06-13-2014, 06:42 AM
Currently, it's Ukeval.

iamesperambient
06-13-2014, 06:44 AM
Currently, it's Ukeval.

never heard of him/her/or them.

niwenomian
06-13-2014, 07:41 AM
Troy Fernandez.

kmac66
06-13-2014, 07:50 AM
Brittni Paiva.

Her Kawika is amazing...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bmo_1uvQty0

Kimosabe
06-13-2014, 07:52 AM
Corey Fujimoto, very tasty. Beautiful new cd. Works at Hawaii Music Supply.

janeray1940
06-13-2014, 08:07 AM
My ukulele heroes will always be John King (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=935ExOpT5bI), Ohta-San (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cAPpKvmDoeM), and Tomotaka Matsui (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kAPfqbXLs9Y). And a more recent (to me) discovery is Steven Strauss (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zvYEv5EjJzE). But I don't ever expect to play *like* any of them.

The most amazing all-around musician I know is my uke instructor (who plays a lot of other instruments as well) - he doesn't play like anybody but himself, at least not that I can discern. And someday this is what I hope to achieve - to play like I know what I'm doing without being compared to anybody else.

dirtiestkidever