Slow-down software

Ukulele Eddie

Reaction score
There is video on You Tube of one of the songs I just started working on. Is there some software I can use to slow the playback down while I learn the song, so that I can practice at (very) slow speeds while playing along?

Thanks for any tips!

Yes, The Amazing Slow Downer. Google it. I've been using it for several years. Mark Kailana Nelson turned me on to it. He said he uses it often. It works! Has a lot of really nice features.

does it work on videos, kimosabe?

Garageband. Took me a long time to realize that the follow tempo/pitch button allows you to change the tempo and retain pitch. Audacity also does it.

Try Youtube. Click the little gear in the lower right corner. Now you can select the playback speed. .25, .5, 1, 1.5 and 2x speeds are all available. Pitch doesn't change, just tempo.

Last edited:
Thanks, all!! I will check out each of the options and report back after I do and let you know how it wwwww-eeee-nnnnn-tttttt. ;-)

Try Youtube. Click the little gear in the lower left corner. Now you can select the playback speed. .25, .5, 1, 1.5 and 2x speeds are all available. Pitch doesn't change, just tempo.

Never saw that. Seems like the obvious solution. I will try it, especially with my Formby style techniques.

Never saw that. Seems like the obvious solution. I will try it, especially with my Formby style techniques.

I may not be the sharpest knife in the drawer, but when I click on the little gear all I see is an option to set the image quality. Here is the video I hoped to slow down:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=luL6WzF4fGU

Do others see the slow down option?

Yes, The Amazing Slow Downer. Google it. I've been using it for several years. Mark Kailana Nelson turned me on to it. He said he uses it often. It works! Has a lot of really nice features.