my first "creation"

pixiepurls

Reaction score
I know nothing about music theory and its possible I subconsciously constructed this after something I already heard. I jammed to some good songs on the radio on a long drive home, then I went out to dinner with the fam and had a very strong margarita, came straight home, walked up stairs to my martin and this just basically came out within about 10 minutes. Looking for constructive feedback as I have no background in music really. I'm on month 3 of proper lessons :) I hope you like it. It feels like the beginning of something.

Nice pixie. I don't think sad at all...maybe wistful, whimsical? Your voice floats in between that chord progression beautifully.

Maybe think about the next part (what we might call the bridge/pre-chorus of the song) going:

Em ( 4 beats or 1 measure) - C (4 beats) - D (two measures or 8 beats). then back to
Em (4 beats) - C (4 beats) - G (1/2 a measure-2 beats) and to a D (two measures)

....and then see what happens from there! Well done! Great start to the song and lovely lyrics. Cheers.

Nice, I like this tweak on that: Em - C - G - D (1 measure each)

So now I need to go research what a bridge is! lol

Sounds great, Pixie. And I loved the short blues tune that popped up after the video ended. That one put a big smile on my face, your enthusiasm is contagious. I'll defer to Eugene on the chord recommendations. I tried them out and they sound quite appropriate. I look forward to hearing more as you add to it.

I'll add that I found when working through the Em C G, and D progression, it sounded good to mix up the D chords with the standard doubled 3rd (A), and a doubled root.

Last edited:
I'll add that I found when working through the Em C G, and D progression, it sounded good to mix up the D chords with the standard doubled 3rd (A), and a doubled root.