Starting ukulele

tbeltrans

Reaction score
Here is what I have done to get started playing ukulele. Since I am self-taught (through books and various learning materials - nobody learns in a vacuum), I know what issues I need to address and how to find solutions. Hopefully this is helpful to somebody here. I am not suggesting other people do it this way - always remember we are each unique and have different learning styles and approaches to problem solving. However, the thought process may be helpful to spur your own thinking in a problem-solving sort of manner to address the various issues starting a new venture presents and get moving forward.

Recently, I got two ukuleles, one from the builder with standard high G (re-entrant) tuning and one from the builder with low G tuning. As I looked around to see what was available for learning ukulele, it became clear to me that I would either be swapping out strings fairly frequently or I would need two ukuleles, so I chose the latter route.

The next issue for me was how to hold the ukulele. I have played fingerstyle guitar for many years and prefer using a strap so that, whether sitting or standing, my guitar is always in the same (classical type) position, with the fretboard pointing up toward my shoulder so the hands fall naturally on the instrument without twisting my wrists at uncomfortable angles and inviting tendonitis and other maladies that could shorten my playing experience. It was Steven King (the fingerstyle guitarist) who encouraged me to go that route and time has proven him right, at least for the styles of music I play.