Good soprano uke for $100?

morgothaod

Reaction score
I'm a beginner and I'm not sure what brand to buy. If I can get the uke and a case for $100 or slightly over, that would be nice. Any recommendations? Thanks.

I'm a beginner and I'm not sure what brand to buy. If I can get the uke and a case for $100 or slightly over, that would be nice. Any recommendations? Thanks.

What do you want to play ...style ,genre etc?...strum or finger..or both ...and together ?

I had a very nice little Mahalo semi electric "Les Paul" (I stood on it ...long sad story)...not the best in the world but it has a longer neck than standard,oh and a cutaway...

you can shove it through amps ..computers ..effects etc and still play it acoustic with a fair tone for it's price....I may even have a you Tube link to a couple of songs if you were interested in it ...

Mahalo Les Paul...came with a slightly ropey but serviceable carry case ...My recommendation is based on ownership and actual use of the instrument.

Some will poopoo Mahalo ...get a good un' and I can't see it.....

You should try some out at a store to see if the size fits you first. The kala starter soprano is always a good choice. If your fingers are long, they have the long neck soprano which is soprano body and concert sized neck. That should do the trick while also sounding nice.

The good news is that you can get a nice uke these days for that kind of money. Can't go wrong with kala. But there are many others too. Check out the gretsch ukes. Great for the money and then some!

That looks decent.

But I'd perhaps suggest a Dolphin to start, then put the rest aside and start saving immediately for something better down the line. Never owned one, but everyone seems to say Dolphins are great starter ukes. :)

Once you've had a chance to learn a bit, you'll be in a better position to know what you want.