The Evil E Chord

katysax

UU VIP
UU VIP
Reaction score
I know this has been discussed a bazillion times, but here it goes.

I've been playing guitar for 50 years and uke for about 15. It's not that I can't play the first position E Chord shape, it is that it is incredibly hard to play it cleanly. It's worse on the guitar because it's a hard one to bar. On the uke the problem is, even on a tenor, there is just not quite enough room and if you are finger picking you need precision.

So like a lot of players I have a number of workarounds and I almost never play that shape. I'm fine with just three strings. And, if you think about it on the uke tuned reentrant the top and bottom string are playing the same note so it really is easy to work around.

But I wonder, does anyone really ever play this chord cleanly and fluently without muting a note or playing in a different position or substituting the G string for the A string?

I've never really had trouble with it, not even on a soprano (but then I've got little hands). I use 4 fingers for the shape, rather than the half-barre that I see a lot of others (particularly guitarists) use. I think I was fortunate in that I learned it first as just another moveable chord shape rather than a single troublesome chord, so I just practiced it up and down the neck a lot in the beginning. And in comparison, for me playing it in first position is much easier to do cleanly than further up the neck!

I know this has been discussed a bazillion times, but here it goes.

I've been playing guitar for 50 years and uke for about 15. It's not that I can't play the first position E Chord shape, it is that it is incredibly hard to play it cleanly. It's worse on the guitar because it's a hard one to bar. On the uke the problem is, even on a tenor, there is just not quite enough room and if you are finger picking you need precision.