PDA

View Full Version : ukulele bracing

hemjr
06-22-2014, 11:43 AM
I had posted the following on the beginners forum and was advised to post it heer.

I am a newbie to Ukulele building. I have built 7 over the past two years. I have searched and read about bracing the inside of Ukuleles. The opinions have been varied. I am interested in best material, thickness, etc. I know it depends somewhat on the soundboard material, but still would like to explore here. Thanks.

BlackBearUkes
06-22-2014, 04:31 PM
Hello, the subject of bracing varies so much that it might be best if you share what you have done in the past, so folks here have an idea how to help you. Photos of your work and bracing patterns would be a good place to start.

Red Cliff
06-22-2014, 08:16 PM
Hi hemjr

Probably a good idea to say what size of uke you are building/most interested in as bracing varies widely between soprano (no bracing for some) through baritone (full fan or kasha).

Beau Hannam Ukuleles
06-23-2014, 09:42 AM
5mm wide x 6mm (1/4") high is a decent place to start for brace stock for the larger ukes.

hemjr
06-26-2014, 02:09 PM
Thanks for the replies. I have made a baritone using a set of plans and Kasha bracing. My last several ukes have been made with arched backs using a homemade radius dish with a 36" radius. I have made one tenor, one concert and several sopranos. I used fan bracing on the top plate of the tenor and concert and one of the sopranos.
I have used a little wider braces on the backs with the arch in them, thinking maybe the arched back needed stronger bracing.

To clarify my question, I was wandering about brace widths, heights and best material.
Thanks

hemjr
06-28-2014, 03:12 AM
Thanks "Beau Hannam Ukuleles" Do you think I can get by with narrower braces(or should I) than 5mm for a Soprano with 3' radiused back?
Thanks

Timbuck
06-28-2014, 03:28 AM