Too early to test different strings?

elbilo

Reaction score
Hello, All!

I've had my uke for a few weeks and am having fun learning some chords and trying out different strum patterns, but I still have a long, long way to go. Anyway, my concert Flea came with D'Addario strings, which sounded good to me, but I just switched to Aquila, since many have praised these strings for the Flea. I also just ordered Living Water strings and am thinking about ordering Martin m600 strings as well, since they have been praised for the Flea too.

Since I'm a total beginner with the uke, does it make any sense to test out different strings before I can even play comfortably?

I feel that finding the sound that matches my vibe will inspire me to play more, but I'm wondering if I even have the ability to properly judge when I'm still a newbie.

Thanks,

Eric

When I get a new uke I am a madman changing strings until I get some I like. I guess my take is if they have stopped stretching then you probably have a good feel for how they sound on your uke. You can swap them out back and forth no problem. I put each string in a marked baggie so I know which is which. At $6 or so finding string you like is the best investment you can make.

Good luck and happy string hunting!

Never too early. Never too late.

As vanflynn said let them stop stretching before you make up your mind. Martin M600 are my choice for my concert Flea.

I use living water string or PhD strings on mine. Never too early to try a few different sets out. It will help you practice restringing, and you will find out what you like the best. Getting one of these has been very handy too.
http://www.amazon.com/Planet-Waves-Winder-String-Cutter/dp/B0002E1G5C
Yes, there are other things you can use, but these are really nice to have.

Hello, All!