Low G on D'addario J71s? Savarez on soprano...

UkuleleD

Reaction score
Hey UU,

I'm just getting into trying out different strings so help me out. Don't get me wrong, I'm completely happy with the default strings, I just like switching em up every once in a while.

I will be stringing 2 different ukes:
  • Pono PTS spruce top/mahogany 4 string tenor
  • KoAloha ksm-00 standard koa soprano(ordering from mgm today)
1) I really want to try the D'addario J71's on my Pono, but the problem is I want it to remain as my Low-G uke. Can someone shoot me a link on what kind of single string you recommend to replace the high g that comes with the J71 pack(D'Addario, Savarez, your choice..etc)?

2) I would also like to try out the Savarez classical guitar strings on my new KoAloha soprano(this will be my high g uke). Going by the reviews I think these strings would compliment this uke very well. However, I'm not sure which of the different variations of the Savarez classical strings to go with, or even if they come default high g/low g. If you could explain, link, or anything, I would appreciate it!

Thanks in advance

Last edited:
Check out my link on the Savarez string review. PM me if you need more information. Aloha!

Nice, thanks for that. I'll pick up some singles of the Savarez:
541R .024
542R .027
543R .033
541J .025

as recommended for my koaloha unless someone says otherwise.

One question down, one to go, thanks poundr!

I'm using the J71's on one of my Tenor's and my Uke store guy gave me a wound classical string from his bulk string rack to make it Low G, never thought to ask him what brand it was.
Last week when I asked for a High g to replace the Low G he went to the D'Adarrio string catalog and found out what gauge string would match, so I guess you could just do the same to go to Low G.

I'm kinda on the Low G fence not sure if I like it or not....
But it does sound good.

Get with MGM - he should have both his Savarez and D'Addario dealerships already.