Custom Ukes from luthiers on UU

Dan Uke

UU VIP
UU VIP
Reaction score
For those in the market for a custom uke, does the luthier's interaction on UU one of the main factors in choosing that person?

Just curious.

Last edited:
For those in the market for a custom uke, does the luthier's interaction on UU make you want to buy a uke from them?

There are lots of luthiers out there so I was wondering if the luthier's interaction one of the main factors for choosing that person.

Just curious.

Yes. Absolutely.

Luthiers who post and offer intelligent, cogent, and knowlegeable remarks in public forums, along with a philosophy of how they view building? I find that a big point in their favor. I have commissioned two ukes from builders because something they said here sparked my interest. (One was from a luthier who had made me a guitar.) I did my due diligence, then contacted them and was able to arrange builds. I like to think they came to realize that even though I was a newbie and not a good player, I did have the wherewithal to appreciate their art and craft enough to give their musical children a good home. Might not play them well, but certainly with enthusiasm and heart.

I have been immensely lucky in this: I have three ukuleles that are superb, and a fourth in the works that I can already see will also be outstanding in every way.

Can't beat that with a stick ...

For those in the market for a custom uke, does the luthier's interaction on UU one of the main factors in choosing that person?
For me, I have to say it was not a main factor in the choice, but it certainly affects my confidence in the build. I have commissioned 3 ukes (only one of which is complete) and 2 of them are from non-UU luthiers. I regard(ed) those builds as somewhat of a gamble. The third is active on UU and well respected - I have total confidence in that one.