PDA

View Full Version : Ukulele Festival

Rllink
07-14-2014, 03:59 AM
I just returned home from the Mighty MO Ukulele Festival in New Haven, MO. I post this here, because this is the beginner's forum, and I'm a beginner. I started in April, I've been going through Ukulele Aerobics and I've been learning chords, playing songs, and just sort of working my way down the road to stardom. I've been playing for my wife a little, entertaining the neighborhood from my front porch on occasion, but pretty much, I've been on my own. So what I'm saying is that I was ready to take the next step, and the Mighty MO Ukulele Festival was probably the best thing that has happened to me at this point.

I think that I learned so much there, and I could see, feel, and hear, a lot of progress over the three days. There is nothing like sitting in with a large group of people and just absorbing their collective knowledge and talent. It doesn't take long in that sort of environment for those hard chords to get easier and the changes to come quicker. I learned so many little tips and tricks and slight of hand that make me sound a lot better than I really am, both in the great workshops that they had, but also just hanging and playing with other uksters. There isn't enough time for me to tell what all I learned, because I learned a lot.

The point of this post is that if you are a beginner, go out and find a uke festival somewhere this summer, soon, and dive in. You will not regret it. Join in on every jam, and if you get lost just mute the strings and strum like crazy until you figure out where you should be, (one of the tricks I learned) and when you catch up play loud and sing loud and have a ball with it. I'm just saying, get out and do it.

DownUpDave
07-14-2014, 04:12 PM
Glad you had such a good time, it definitely comes across in your post. I have never been to a Ukulele festival but I will be this summer so thanks for the two thumbs up.