if you knew then what you know now...

janeray1940

Reaction score
This comment and my response to it in another thread got me to thinking about what might be an interesting discussion, particularly for newbies: if you could go back in time and tell your beginning-ukulele-player self a few helpful bits of advice, what would they be?

A few that come to mind:

Never say never. You may be so sure that you will "never" play anything but a particular size or wood or brand, but needs change over time. For instance - when I started playing I thought I wanted only mahogany, soprano, and vintage. Fast forward five years and I'm all about koa, concert scale, and brand-spankin'-new.

Don't believe what you read. Always try it yourself and come to your own conclusions. Trust your instincts (and trust that they may change over time!).

Put a strap on it. Don't explain, don't justify, just do it :)

12 frets is not enough. The more, the better, and you want a 14-fret join if at all possible.

That's just for starters. Anyone else??

Last edited:
After years of not liking mahogany guitars and really not liking mahogany mandolins, I just assumed I wouldn't like mahogany ukes, so I avoided them. Boy, was I wrong-- mahogany makes awesome ukes!

Don't buy too cheap. You probably ARE going to like playing it, so get something a little better than the cheapest thing you can find.

I was lucky, and found UU before I bought my first one, so I didn't fall into that trap, but I very nearly did.

Spend some time playing with the lights off. I don't care if it's musically correct, just experience and explore the finger board and really listen. Having a bit of a scientific and analytic mind I tend to try to understand things too deeply. When I started feeling the music my playing improved immensely.

What ever I think now is almost certainly what I won't think a year from now.