PDA

View Full Version : if you knew then what you know now...

janeray1940
07-14-2014, 07:49 AM
This comment (http://forum.ukuleleunderground.com/showthread.php?98702-Oh-Straps-where-have-you-been-all-my-life&p=1551862#post1551862) and my response to it in another thread got me to thinking about what might be an interesting discussion, particularly for newbies: if you could go back in time and tell your beginning-ukulele-player self a few helpful bits of advice, what would they be?

A few that come to mind:

Never say never. You may be so sure that you will "never" play anything but a particular size or wood or brand, but needs change over time. For instance - when I started playing I thought I wanted only mahogany, soprano, and vintage. Fast forward five years and I'm all about koa, concert scale, and brand-spankin'-new.

Don't believe what you read. Always try it yourself and come to your own conclusions. Trust your instincts (and trust that they may change over time!).

Put a strap on it. Don't explain, don't justify, just do it :)

12 frets is not enough. (http://forum.ukuleleunderground.com/showthread.php?98742-if-you-knew-then-what-you-know-now&p=1551950#post1551950) The more, the better, and you want a 14-fret join if at all possible.

That's just for starters. Anyone else??

RichM
07-14-2014, 07:59 AM
After years of not liking mahogany guitars and really not liking mahogany mandolins, I just assumed I wouldn't like mahogany ukes, so I avoided them. Boy, was I wrong-- mahogany makes awesome ukes!

Icelander53
07-14-2014, 08:09 AM
Start forty years earlier

and yes put a strap on it.

BlueLatitude
07-14-2014, 08:11 AM
Don't buy too cheap. You probably ARE going to like playing it, so get something a little better than the cheapest thing you can find.

I was lucky, and found UU before I bought my first one, so I didn't fall into that trap, but I very nearly did.

janeray1940
07-14-2014, 08:22 AM
Start forty years earlier