wood ,finish allergy to uke?

uke-a-little

Reaction score
Hi folks,
I have posted this problem on the beginners forum and they suggested we ask you all over here about this problem, We have an Ohana TK20 tenor uke. its a solid top mahogany,rosewood fingerboard, My husband started playing it, and did 0k for awhile, then started getting skin peeling only on the left hand where he chords the uke, reddish too, ,he quit playing it for a while and hand got better, started playing it again and its back, now his fingernails are starting to show signs of coming off at the cuticle, I did some research the best i knew how and don't know where to go, His left hand is the only one he has this problem with, he holds the uke and strums with the right hand , no problems at all, so any help would be appreciated ,
thanks to you all, and will be looking forward to your input on this
j&C uke-a-little

I'm no expert, but I do remember someone on a guitar forum who discovered he was allergic to his beloved cedar-top guitar. Just did a Google search, and came up with this link: Wood Allergies and Toxicity. Hope this helps you get started.

I don't mean to sound rude (ok, maybe I want to sound just rude enough), but if your husband is experiencing something as extreme as losing his nails, don't you think a doctor would be the best person to be asking, rather than a motley collection of musicians?

Last edited:
Some people have an extreme allergic reaction to rosewood. It certainly sounds like your husband is one of those people. Get him a uke with an ebony fingerboard.

Some people have an extreme allergic reaction to rosewood. It certainly sounds like your husband is one of those people. Get him a uke with an ebony fingerboard.

I've got pins and needles in my left arm and chest pains. Should I swap my Koa uke for Mahogany and see if that cures it?

If he's losing his fingernails, stop asking people on a frigging ukulele forum for medical advice!