Humidity

kdmccullum

Reaction score
I live in the high desert of southern California and I've stuck to laminates up till now because the humidity gets to the mid 20s in the summer on a regular basis. Temperatures of 105+ are rather common. In the winder it's cold and the forced air heater dries everything out.

I leave my long neck soprano hanging on the wall and it also goes in the car with me for a little lunch hour playing. My tenor stays in a case but it's a laminate too. Low humidity is not an issue with either.

For a few months I had a solid zebrawood soprano and every time I pulled it out of the case I needed to tune it, and then I would have to re-tune every few minutes. It took it a good 30 minutes to settle down. I ended up selling it and replacing it with a laminate because it became madding just trying to play it for an hour.

I've been playing for about 2 1/2 years and I have been thinking of adding a concert or replacing my tenor with either an all solid or solid top uke. But the whole humidity thing has be freaked out.

So given my climate situation should I
a) Go for all solid and a good humidifier.
b) Go for a solid top only and a good humidifier
c) Forget it and look for the highest quality laminate I can find. (Which of course leads to more questions)

Kurt

Good questions. I stuck with laminates for the same reasons. Then I got a solid top and heard it and said Wow! Well then I got going with all wood because they really do sound better most of the time. I took a small closet and set it up with pans of water and a gauge to see where the humidity was at. It easily keeps all my ukes at 45-53% humidity. Then I use a humidifier in the case if needed. I've had no problems so far. I say go for the wood and make it work.

I live in Phoenix, so I know what you are going through with humidity being low most of the time (although it's actually raining out today!)