JB-Baritone

Bruce Sexauer

Reaction score
I have shared before about the "interesting" steel string Ukuleles I have been making for several years now, and I continue to be pretty excited about this concept. These instrument have really great performance, and are a guitar players dream come true when they realize how unsatisfactory an undersized guitar is as a travel companion, and how effective these little wonders are if you can let go of the need of those bottom 2 strings. I personally am a flatpicker, and that works much better for me on steel strings that on more traditional Ukes.

I call my latest rendition a a Baritone Uke though one might argue, and it is tuned exactly like the top 4 strings of a guitar, no transposing required! The smaller "Tenor" version of this instrument has the same relative tuning, but it is like having a capo at the 5th fret of this baritone (dropped "d" or "g", depending). This instrument was commissioned, and I have delivered it earlier today, but first I took some photos and made a page on my website to document it" Here is a picture to give you the idea, but click the link for better comprehension.

donetreble1.jpg

Thanks for looking.

This one is 20 1/16 x 20 3/8 +/-. I strung it with medium e-b-g-d guitar strings, but I am now thinking light b-g-d-a might be a better bet.

Thats Nice! I see your in Petaluma, have a Lagunitas for me and your right down the road from LMI. Always liked that area.