Beginner question: Choosing string sets for my uke

haertig

Reaction score
I'm wondering about string sets in general, and also specifically the string set that came on my Uke. A tenor Kala KA-T from HMS. The HMS website says they are Aquilas. Since I'm just learning uke, the specific strings really don't matter to me, but I still want to increase my knowledge of them. My uke is strung with high-G.

The C string HMS installed is a wound string, all the others are plain strings. I opened up the spare set of Aquila strings I bought with the uke, and find they came with two C strings - one wound one and one non-wound one brown in color (all the other non-C strings are non-wound and white).

So what is the benefit of Aquila's wound C-string vs. the alternate (included) non-wound nylon C-string?

I'm thinking I might want to try a set of low-G strings sometime in the near future. Just to see what they are like. Should I buy a set of strings that come with the low-G (there are several available sets available on the HMS website), or should I just buy the stand-alone low-G single string from Freemont Soloist (also available from HMS) and install it with the rest of the standard Aquila set? Are such mix-and-match strings sets adviseable? When using the Freemont wound-G, would it be best to also use the Aquila wound-C or switch to the Aquila brown non-wound-C?

It looks like the Worth BT's are low-G, and all four strings are non-wound. What would be the plus/minus of this Worth set compared to the Aquila/Freemont mix-and-match?

I'm guessing this will all come down to "personal preference", so that's why I'm asking what other people's preferences are. Being so new to the uke, I have no preferences yet. But I don't want to buy things thinking I'll try them later, only to find what I've bought is a waste because it was ill-advised and I just didn't know any better.

Last edited: