And now for another sound direction.

Icelander53

Reaction score
If it's really that dramatic I don't know. Right now my favorite tone wood seems to be cedar followed by mahogany. I'll say right before asking this question that I haven't been impressed by spruce for some reason. But I was wanting another uke and wanted some sound quality that would be somewhat different from either cedar or mahogany. Is there anything or, as I sometimes suspect, the build has more to do with it than the tonewood?

What's your opinion?

I have a eucalyptus back and sides with a mahogany top that looks and sounds great! Are you not a fan of Koa??

I have limited experience with Koa. I have access to two Acacia ukes that are nothing special to my ear but that may be more the quality of the build than anything in the wood. They sound pretty but are heavy and so very quiet and almost hard to hear at times. That's a turn off for me.

If you want a deeper sound take a look at walnut. Could top it with cedar or redwood for more range. Click on the video for the Compass Rose all walnut. http://gryphonstrings.com/instpix/43734/index.php Also look for videos of Covered Bridge cedar/walnut ukes.

But I was wanting another uke and wanted some sound quality that would be somewhat different from either cedar or mahogany. Is there anything or, as I sometimes suspect, the build has more to do with it than the tonewood?
Have you tried spruce? It's considered to be bright and loud. :)

While a luthier's build can definitely affect the ultimate result, certain tonewoods have certain characteristics that can't be entirely changed by the build.

Have you tried spruce? It's considered to be bright and loud. :)

While a luthier's build can definitely affect the ultimate result, certain tonewoods have certain characteristics that can't be entirely changed by the build.

I mentioned in the OP that I don't like spruce.