do string preferences change?

chuck in ny

Reaction score
i have a pono concert that was a slow one to break in. it's opening up some now. if i had to take a guess it's partly stout construction and mostly using the wrong finish. i know the guys at the factory don't ask my opinion. i've been woodworking for over 4 decades and could tell by the feel of the finish and the smell that it was going to take a while to fully cure. they would be better served by changing finish or going to satin instead of wet look and again i understand my opinion was never asked for.
the instrument initially had a muted voice. i tried worth browns, too muted, worth clears did not have their usual ring, and finally put martin m600s on that were the only ones that spoke clearly. worth clear strings usually sound a bit better and i wonder that now that the uke is opening up that it might be now possible to put them on.
i could also try aquila reds and other choices. i wonder if a uke ever changes its string preference and whether the worth clears would now work, or whether that's a pipe dream.

Interesting. My Pono is one of the loudest of my 8 ukes.

You'd think they wouldn't make such a basic mistake about a finish, I mean since they've been in the business a while. And I don't see why they wouldn't want your opinion. You are the customer and without you they don't make/sell ukuleles anymore. Plus you are telling us you have some expertise here. Have you contacted them about this issue to see what they have to say about it?

Last edited:
If the uke is a brand new solid wood model i have found that the strings i prefer tends to change as the uke opens up and changes in tone. Usually i start out with something a little more warm like a worth brown and come a bit brighter as the tone becomes richer and is able to handle a wider range. Of course YMMV