New Builder

MichaelPfenning

Reaction score
I am trying to decide which method to use for attaching the neck. The spanish heal looks interesting. Is it harder than the rest? Is one far better than the others? Just wondering

Mike

i like to finish neck and body separate so like the bolt on neck or dovetail depending on what tools and machinery you have axcess too.

I'm only a novice with 5 classical guitars and 5 tenor ukes built to date, all with tapered dovetailed neck joints. It seems to me that it's not about how to attach the neck, it's about the method used to build the whole instrument. This decision determines the mold/jigs you need to make. I've only built the one way because it looked easier to me to make the box in a mold and then add the neck: I am sure a tenon joint would be fine if you don't fancy the tapered dovetail. Maybe others will give a contrary opinion, but it also appears to me that routing/fitting purfling and binding must be easier using the box/separate neck method.

You can find so much info on youtube on guitar/uke making. Watch a few video clips on both methods of construction and you'll see what its all about.

Thanks for the info. I have watched several videos. I have a pretty full compliment of tools . I just thought the Spanish heal method looked interesting. I should be starting my jig soon.

Mike

There are two big pluses to the Spanish heel method:

1. Getting the neck alignment and angle is easy. You glue the soundboard to the neck (having chiselled a step in the end of the neck to accommodate it) and then clamp the lot face down to a board. Neck angle is adjusted by placing a shim under the nut/zero fret position. If you want a domed soundboard you dish your workboard or build up its edges.