Any reason guitar players should use GCEA ...

I have played guitar for more than 30 years. I just use my ukuleles in the tuning they were in when I got them. I really like re-entrant tuning because it is so different from guitar so "muscle memory" does not interfere with going in a new direction musically. I also have one ukulele in low G tuning because there is a lot of good music happening there too. That is the only difference between my two ukuleles in terms of tuning, which octave the 4th (G) string is in. I don't know if I will explore other tunings, since I am still learning the seemingly standard tuned ukulele.

One thing I will say is that I am learning ukulele on its own terms, rather than trying to relate it to the guitar. I don't ever think about the ukulele as being like a guitar capo'ed at the 5th fret other than occasionally seeing reference to that here. I would find that really confusing, where treating the ukulele as a completely different instrument seems more straightforward to me. I want to leave all the guitar "baggage" behind me when I pick up the ukulele and start with a clean slate. I find that approach refreshing and inspiring.

Tony

Tony, that's a good point and one I thought of but couldn't really evaluate before the fact.

In my case it's a more direct connection since I play a Tacoma Papoose, whose standard tuning is A D F# B E A.

rather than tuning to the 5th fret of a guitar: A D F# B ?
you can tune them that way. in the past it was a popular way to tune them, commonly called D tuning. In fact, some sopranos sound better tuned that way, and many people still do.

Nope, that's why you tune the A string by playing the E string at the fifth fret.

A guitar is normally tuned EADGBE, where the E and the A are low strings. We uke player only have the equivalent of DGBE (bariton tuning). Transposing that to the fifth fret, you go from D -> Eb -> E -> F -> F# -> G, so you end up with GCEA, and not A D F# B.

Last edited: