New to bass but getting a custom bass uke.

KohanMike

Los Angeles, Beverly Grove West
UU VIP
Reaction score
I just found this section of the UU forums. I started playing ukulele a year ago, but played guitar for about 50 years. I've contemplated the idea of learning the electric bass many times before, especially with the encouragement of a very accomplished guitar player friend, but I just didn't like the idea of carrying around that big instrument and amp.

Now that so many small acoustic bass ukes are out, I decided I'm going to take it on. I'm taking lessons now with Brad at U-Space in Downtown LA and have handled the Kala U-Bass, Tanger and Gold Tone MicroBass in his store. I found that I don't really like the configuration of the Kala with only 16 frets, and the others that are 35-36" long with 20 frets are just a little big for me, so I'm having a custom bass uke made by Bruce Wei in Vietnam (he made me a great gypsy jazz uke I received a couple of weeks ago).

This is the detail I sent him, and it includes a custom made case, for $480. It has 18 frets, is about 1.5 inches longer than the Kala and about 4 inches shorter than the Gold Tone, in my opinion just right. I'm having the fret board extended around the sound hole to be a thumb rest. It's all solid acacia koa with binding that matches the Aquila Thundergut strings.

Below that is a comparison of a Kala, my Bruce Wei custom and a Gold Tone MicroBass.

U-Bass & bag.jpg

U-Bass group2.jpg

Last edited:
Well, now I'm having UBAS (ukulele bass acquisition syndrome). I was getting a bass lesson today and decided to buy the Gold Tone MicroBass they had in the store. Even though it's that much bigger than the Kala, it is very nice. Got a good deal, and I'm having a custom gig bag made like the one for my custom bass, which will fit my 13.3 inch tablet, music stand and a small bass stand. (Yep, I'm nuts.)

Bass bag stand.jpg