Ukuleles in Hawaii

basilfire5

Reaction score
I'm new here, so hello everyone . I am currently on holiday/vacation and wanted to purchase a ukulele, as I'm just beginning to play it seriously, and needed an upgradeon my kala ka-cem. My price range is $400 and have found two longneck soprano ukuleles that interest me, first is an ali'i which there isn't much information on, but it is solid koa, designed in Hawaii but manufactured in the Philippines. This is $350, the second is a keli'i silver longneck ukulele, which has a Koa top but mahogany sides and back, though it is mainly made in Hawaii which costs $375, and a little in China. My main question is which to go for, ali'i seems better but there is no information on the company, whereas, keli'i seems like a well respected brand.

I'm in Waikiki and have looked at 2 ukulele pua pua stores, one Bob's ukulele and a random shop in my hot (which has the ali'i), any other possible Ile suggestions would be appreciated, and I'm sorry if this thread is in the wrong thread, it is only myfirst time!

Thanks

Go to Hawaii Music Supply. Best ukulele dealer on Oahu, perhaps on Earth.

Third for HMS. Andrew is a great guy. They'll hook you up with a perfect fit.

Go to Hawaii Music Supply. Best ukulele dealer on Oahu, perhaps on Earth.

Possibly on Earth. I live in Singapore and prefer buying ukes from HMS.