Yawning...

ShortCut

Reaction score
Hey everyone, I've been singing more and more lately, but from some odd reason, everytime I sing, I just start yawning in the middle of a song, and I do it 2-3 times every song I sing, It's quite annoying, and I can't figure out what is making it happen.. I'm not tired or anything... any suggestions on how to fix this?

Mitch

I had a similar problem, except mine was minor cough. Fixed it by being conscious of my breathing, taking deeper breaths, and keeping my posture more straight. I usually play while sitting, so slouching was easy to do. It comes back now and then to remind me of the details...

I'm no expert, but I'm inclined to agree with Harold.

Yawning (so I've heard) is sometimes due to a lack of oxygen. So it's probably a breathing thing.

JJ

Yawning also is a mechanism designed to cool our brains actually too. Btw this happens to me also ALL the time! I know this might sound weird but it works for me: try not to open yur mouth AS wide. If you do, yur brain might think you already have yawned and you know how yawns are contagious? Same goes when you are alone.

Yawning also is a mechanism designed to cool our brains actually too. Btw this happens to me also ALL the time! I know this might sound weird but it works for me: try not to open yur mouth AS wide. If you do, yur brain might think you already have yawned and you know how yawns are contagious? Same goes when you are alone.

I actually just yawned seeing this thread! They ARE contagious! :)

I've read that yawning can be a response to adrenaline. Sportsmen often get it just before a race.

Ukantor.

It's also a sign of motion sickness. (A tip I picked up from one of my old flight instructors. When a student started yawning, he'd know it was time to crack open the air vent and call off stall practice. :p)

JJ