Help. I learned the Uke wrong, and I can't un-learn it.

dog8food

Reaction score
I started learning on a guitar, so with my uke, my chord shapes are the same as guitar shapes in my mind (where C is G, F is C, etc). The problem is, I can't unlearn this. When I try, I want to give up the instrument altogether. I've written all my songs with the "wrong" chords.

I want to start learning tabs now. It doesn't seem like it will be affected much by my problem.

Has anyone else experienced this? What did you do?

Well, you could get materials for baritone uke. The shapes and names there will be the same as the top 4 guitar strings. So 0232 will be D for example. Then if you have a smaller instrument in your hand, you'll have to transpose the music up a fifth so it'll come out right with your shapes.

I have kinda the opposite problem. I treat all my ukes as if they are GCEA even if I'm holding a baritone. So I have to transpose music around to fit instruments. But I find that easier than learning different names for the same shapes.

Tabs are a different beast since you have the fret numbers and you can ignore the chord names.

Not being a traditionalist, I adapted the instrument to me rather than the other way around. The past couple years I've been predominately Tenor Guitar and Mandolin (got tired of six-string), so when the ukulele came along, it got tuned GDAE so that the left hand and right brain did not have to reformat. it was a simple adaptation (low-G, C tuned up to D, and the E and A strings swapped. The uke sound basically stayed the same (only one string slightly modified), and the "play-ability" and enjoyment has been fine.