How to insult a luthier?

Pete Howlett

Reaction score
Ask him to build a uke like (insert another luthiers name here)... New one on me but I suspect others have had this type of face-slapping request waiting for them in their inbox no?

I've not heard of anything like that, Pete, but it just shows how unthinking and insensitive some people can be. I don't think you would want to build a uke for someone with that mind-set.

John Colter.

Not being a luthier, I can only imagine, but it probably wasn't intended as an insult. Perhaps you could ask the potential client what aspects of the other uke they particularly like and that could open the conversation into what you're good at and how you can meet the same ends (or not). But I recall a recent post from Rick Turner with a similar story like "can you make it more like a Taylor" (or whatever it was) and he refunded her deposit and said "go down he street and buy a Taylor" (paraphrasing). So I do understand the sentiment.

Ask him to build a uke like (insert another luthiers name here)... New one on me but I suspect others have had this type of face-slapping request waiting for them in their inbox no?

It would not surprise me if the comment was, "Build me a uke/guitar/mandolin like ------, only cheaper. He charges too much!"

To me, rightly or wrongly, there are two kind of folk being called luthiers these days. One is like a mechanic - can set up, fix damage and generally put back together what's broken and build under the supervision of an artisan. The other is the artisan who builds based on a combination of skill, imagination, knowledge, experience, uniqueness and talent. Am lucky enough to have two "artisan" instruments and have the greatest respect for the luthier-artisans who built them.