Chord help!

lkhill

Reaction score
Hi guys, i am very new to UU and almost as new to playing Uke.

I just wanted to know......
I have a little ashton Uke (only cheap being as im learning), how come chords for songs are different for different ukes? Mainly, where can i find the chords to suit my uke? i struggle quite a bit to find the right chords. For example i use C, Am, F and G for Bleeding Love by Leona Lewis, whereas someone else uses a different set of chords. :confused:

Can someone explain this to me? and also point in the right direction for tabs? x:D

There are different tunings for the Uke. Uke Chord Finder should help you . . . Click on the tuning on the right side of the headstock, most use C tuning (GCEA). for that song, I use Bb Gm Eb and F because it's in my vocal range. Those chords can be transposed to fit vocal ranges.

Last edited:
For example i use C, Am, F and G for Bleeding Love by Leona Lewis, whereas someone else uses a different set of chords. :confused:

If someone else has a different set of chords, then one of you is wrong. :D

Chords are chords are chords. It doesn't matter whether you play them on a guitar, or a uke, or an accordion, or a nyckelharpa, or whatever. If the song requires a C chord, then that's what you should play.

What does change, based on the tuning of your instrument, is how you play that C chord. On a standard-tuned guitar, for example, you'd play it as 032010. If your uke is tuned GCEA (most are), you'd usually play it as 0003. If it's tuned ADF#B, then you'd play it as 3211. Despite those differences, those are all called a C chord.

JJ

Could it be that these other people are playing a uke in standard 'C' tuning, but playing the song in a different key?

Ukantor.

Or, as Kanaka916 points out, someone has transposed the chords to a different key.