Tenor and Classical Guitars

Hey! Thanks, Steve, they could have at least said somethin’ about it. Now that I know what it’s for, I can ignore it and forget about it.

Lotsa stuff ta learn.

Last edited:
Wow -- flute, banjo, then tenor guitar! That all sounds like a whole lotta fun. Enjoy the new tenor. As others have posted, maybe after you've played it awhile it will come alive, and different strings might also help. The fun is in the messing around with it.

Well, I played for an hour today to try to pick a pick. I liked the sound of the Dunlop Prime Grip 1.14 mm (red) best followed by the 1.5 mm (blue). I think maybe they’re both a bit stiff for me, but I liked their sounds.

Picking picks is maddening. To morrow they’ll both sound awful, and I’ll hate ‘em.

Last edited:
Those seem to be thick picks. I am a relative beginner using a pick and On regular guitar i use .73 soft for strumming and 0.7 to 0.8 medium for single string picking

Those seem to be thick picks. I am a relative beginner using a pick and On regular guitar i use .73 soft for strumming and 0.7 to 0.8 medium for single string picking

Yeah, Davoravo, I agree. On my other tenor guitar and my tenor banjo I use a Dunlop .060 or .073 for picking, but I don’t strum much. However, I really like the feel and smoothness and sound of the red 1.14 best, but then, I’m still experimenting, trying to find what I like. The 1.5 mm was indeed pretty stiff.

Thanks for the advice. I’ll continue the search.

Last edited:
Picking picks is maddening. To morrow they’ll both sound awful, and I’ll hate ‘em. :eek:ld:

Ain't it the truth??? I'm sure you'll sound great no matter which pick you use, but I know what you mean -- I always want to find the best one, and it varies week to week or month to month.

Yeah, that’s why it’s kinda silly for one to try to pick exactly the correct strings or picks to sound exactly the way he/she wants to sound.