Hi from Bend

FrankMCT

Reaction score
Hey, distinguished members of the forum! In searching for new hobbies I decided to learn to play the ukulele. I'm a beginner, totally. Happy, that I've found this community.
Thanks in advance and all the best
Frank

Greetings and welcome fellow Oregonian!

Do you already have a ukulele? What kind of music do you want to play on it?
Hi and thank you for the response. Appreciate that! Actually not, in a few days, I'll research this forum and probably ll ask some questions.

Welcome to UU, Frank!
If you can try a few instruments out locally, do that first. Even if none are suitable for you (you don't like their looks, sound, or the price is too low / high), you'll at least have a better idea which size is best to start on.
There's a uke for everyone, but it may take a while to find it.
Enjoy your journey.

Welcome aboard, Frank. Bend has a strong ukulele community and hosted Uke U for several years with many of the top players and teachers at the event. Hopefully the event will return in the future. There is the Bend Ukulele Group (BUGs) and others. Also, there are some very good teachers in the area if you want to go that route. Best of luck on your journey.

Bill

Welcome to the Forum, Frank! As BillM mentioned, Bend has a lively ukulele scene. Definitely worth checking out when their uke activities safely resume.

Jan D (up the road from you, in Corvallis)

Hi Frank, Welcome to the UU Forum.

First think before you buy, you'll need to figure out what size uke you want to buy. The three most common are CGEA tuned Soprano, Concert, Tenor. Or, go with a larger Baritone that is tuned DGBE. The ideal way is to try holding and strumming the three sizes. But if you can't do that, then listen to ukes in each size and go with the one that you like the sound of the most. Lots of big people play the diminutive soprano and many small people play the tenor. Or you can start with the concert that is an easy size to start with.