What’s the story behind this Kaai Ukulele?

Reaction score
Hello!

I bought this ukulele at a local auction with the intent of letting my daughter play with it. I quickly realized its fairly old so I wanted to find out more about it because I’m not so sure she’ll get her hands on this one, haha. I googled a few things but what I found was inconclusive so I thought I’d turn to the experts here on the forum.

Can anyone tell me more about it?

Also, it came with a pretty sweet old case that is velvet lined.

Pictures can be seen here: https://photos.app.goo.gl/n1NggmykJdBsYEwG7

Thanks in advance for the info!

(And if this question should go somewhere else just let me know, newbie here).

Last edited:
No pictures...

Try this google search if you have not already:

ernest kaai vintage ukulele

No pictures...
Sorry @rustydusty! Rookie move. I uploaded them and didn’t notice they were too big. I threw them in an album here: https://photos.app.goo.gl/n1NggmykJdBsYEwG7

@rainbow21 - I tried all the basic searches and found some good info, old ads, company change dates, etc but could never find a sticker like this one has. The closet I got was an ad for lessons by the Kaai Manufucturing company. They were delivered in the same building that is referenced on this sticker - the Young Building - but had a different address number.

Just trying to determine if this is an actual Kaai ukulele made by the Kaai group from 1910-1917. And if so, what’s the wood, what type is it, etc.

Last edited:
This from Tiki King: